Sugar-free banana flapjacks

IMG_20131015_132441

I saw a recipe somewhere for Paleo pancakes. Dead easy and apparently delicious. The instructions said mash one banana, mix with two eggs and fry in a medium heat pan with a little coconut oil or spray and cook.

Well that’s easy I thought… and so began one of the greatest disasters to occur in my kitchen thus far. Let me tell you, banana flavoured scrambled eggs have nothing to recommend them. There I am with a bowl of egg and banana mix and I am wondering what to do with it when it strikes me… I don’t have to stick to paleo… so out comes a couple extra ingredients from my pantry and moments later delicious flapjacks are happily frying in the pan.

These flapjacks win the toddler seal of approval!

Recipe:

2 large or 4 small bananas

2 extra large eggs

1/2 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

a dash of cinnamon

pinch of salt

coconut oil for frying

Method:

Blend together the banana and egg with a hand blender. Add flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Mix until thoroughly combined. Fry on a medium heat in a little coconut oil. Et voila… there is nothing to it!

My boys loved them, and they are even tasty cold. Perfect car snacks!

Where possible I use all organic and/or free range products.

Leave a Reply

