The perfect baby/toddler lunch – Macaroni cheese-ish

This is a go-to standby when I need a quick and easy dinner for the boys. I cook the tomato sauce in bulk and freeze it in cubes.

The boys love it and it is so easy to make.

Tomato Sauce:

Yield 1 cup

10-15 Roma cherry tomatoes halved
1/2 a small onion chopped
1 small carrot finely grated
1 tablespoon pickled beetroot
Fresh basil
1 clove garlic minced
1 heaped teaspoon of tomato paste

Fry the onion in a little olive oil until just golden, add carrot and garlic and saute until softened. Add tomatoes, beetroot, basil, tomato paste and cover with a lid. Allow to simmer on a low heat until the tomatoes are falling apart.

Liquidise with a hand blender. The carrot and beetroot give it a beautiful neon, bright red colour. You would never believe it is healthy and 100% natural.

Macaroni:

Since my boys are still small and have no teeth I use tubetti pasta which is small toddler bite size pasta. You can really use anything though. There are all sorts of fun shaped pastas for kids.

1/2 cup of pasta
Matchbox size block of mild cheddar or gouda grated

Boil the crap out of the pasta until it is super soft. Drain. Add 2-3 tablespoons of sauce until pasta is well coated. Stir through most of the cheese leaving a little to sprinkle on top.

Et voila! Yummy macaroni cheese with hidden veggies.

This recipe makes enough for my 9 month old twins for 2 meals.

6 thoughts on “The perfect baby/toddler lunch – Macaroni cheese-ish

    • LOL! You need basic cooking skills to follow my recipes.

      Dear Wife made this for the boys on Saturday and the conversation went like this:
      DW: how long must I cook the pasta for?
      Me: I don’t know until it is very soft.
      DW: how long does that take?
      Me: I don’t know I just leave it until it’s ready.
      DW: But about home many minutes is that?
      Me: I don’t know love, I’ve never timed it. About 15min if I have to guess.

Leave a Reply

