Twin boys birthday party themes

Trying to find a theme for the boys has been driving me nuts. Here is the short list:

A Teddybear’s picnic
Thing 1 Thing 2 (Dr Seuss)
Planes, Trains and Automobiles
2 colours (blue and orange)
Monkey and Lion Cub
Frog and Snails
Dots and stripes
Double Trouble
M and L (the first letters of their names)
Rainbows

I am leaning more to the teddybear’s picnic theme because I figure this is the only party that I can really do a “cute” theme. After this it is going to get more and more boyish.

If you go out in the woods today
You’re sure of a big surprise.
If you go out in the woods today
You’d better go in disguise.

For every bear that ever there was
Will gather there for certain, because
Today’s the day the teddy bears have their picnic.

Picnic time for teddy bears,
The little teddy bears are having a lovely time today.
Watch them, catch them unawares,
And see them picnic on their holiday.
See them gaily dance about.
They love to play and shout.
And never have any cares.
At six o’clock their mommies and daddies
Will take them home to bed
Because they’re tired little teddy bears.

I want to get the boys used to giving away old toys when they get new toys at birthdays and Christmas, so my idea is that everyone who comes brings an old or new teddy that, with the boys’ old toys, will be donated to a children’s home. This year I think we will give to the Tshwane Place of Safety.

It will be lovely having a big grassy area with blankets put out to sit on. I don’t know if we will do organised games as the boys are still too small so maybe just a jumping castle for the bigger kids. I can put out crayons and teddybear colouring-in sheets.

I saw some edible food colouring markers which might be fun to use to draw faces on the teddybear sandwiches. I have lots of ideas for a whole bunch of teddy bear themed food. I’ll make cupcakes for the boys cake. Decorated with their names and teddies.

I’m actually quite excited about this.

Typing this post out has actually made me very sure that a Teddybear’s picnic is the way to go.

19 thoughts on “Twin boys birthday party themes

  1. This sounds so great and I am so very happy that you are thinking to give to Tshwane Place of Safety, as this is the place of my heart because Emma came through them to me. 😀

    • Yes Janine, I know, that’s why I chose them. The story of Emma and Simone has always been very close to my heart. When ever anyone asks about a charity organisation to support in PTA I point them to TPSA.

      They do such good work.

  2. I think this is the last time you’ll be able to do the Teddy theme, so why not? I like the idea of giving both an old toy for a charity and a new toy for the boys. LOVE it!
    I hope little Lebo cracks an invite to this! 😉

  3. Such a great idea to give old toys away! Makes a birthday party just that extra special I think. And I would have gone with the teddy theme too – super cute!

    • Everyone is so generous with gift for the boys that I feel strongly that they should give away some stuff before opening new toys.

  4. We are also doing the Teddy Bear’s picnic, I think I still have your email address somewhere perhaps we can share awesome ideas. I really love this theme and am so excited about all the cool stuff you can do with it.

    Instead of buying party bags I am buying Sunflower Foundation Bandanas and putting the party favours in them. I figure that way the money also goes to a charity and the kids can use the bandanas afterwards. Love the idea of giving a little back as I am just so greatful to have me precious twins.

    • I love that our twins have been linked all the way from us being cycle buddies to now having the same theme birthday party. Beautifully poetic!

      I sent you an email back with all my ideas so far. Another idea I’ve had is to make edible playdough for the party packs. Cheap, easy, fun.

  5. I was planning to give Little M a picnic party at Greenpoint Park so naturally I’m loving the teddy bear theme! It’s a great setting for vintage pictures too.
    Keep in mind a Monkey and Lion Cub theme has a significance to it!

    • Jaunita (HopefullyTTC) and I are both having Teddybears picnics (completely by coincidence). I’m sire if you do a teddy theme you can get lots of ideas from us lol!

  6. Almost all boys are into super heroes, cartoons, dinosaurs, or cars. For that reason, making use of a celebration that has their preferred pastime or character are several concepts that are generally outstanding. You may as well check out boys birthday party ideas at BirthdayExpress.com.

Leave a Reply

