9 month update

The boys turned 9 months old last Tuesday. They have been the centre of my universe for 40 weeks! Which is 2 weeks longer than I carried them for. Amazing!

Milestones:
Watching the boys develop is incredible. It happens so quickly. Within 2 weeks both boys were crawling and to my utter surprise Monkey was the one who started crawling first.

Monkey has also mastered picking small pieces of food and putting them in his mouth. His pincer grip is very good, poor Lion Cub still uses his hand and as such ends up covering himself and the kitchen in puffs and cereal.

Lion Cub has two teeth, both his bottom incisors have come out. Monkey shows no sign of teeth yet but he is still eating better than LC.

LC is so good at mimicry. DW taught him how to make lip smacking noises and Ouma taught him to make aaa-aaa-aaa-aaa-aaa noises by tapping her hand over his mouth while he makes a noise. It is too damn cute. I promise I’ll try put a video up.

Monkey is the reincarnation of Evil Knieval. He climbs on everything, UP, ONTO STUFF. This child is giving me grey hairs. He also keeps bumping his head and is constantly covered in bruises. Poor nunu!

Their favourites: Oupa! Going outside, rainbow puffs, rice cakes, yogurt, noisy toys, scaring mommy, hugs, BATH TIME, when Mama gets home, Monkey – rough and tumble play, LC – cuddles and sitting in Mommy’s lap.

Eating is going well. I haven’t yet found anything that the boys won’t eat. LC’s new favourite food ever is macaroni cheese with tomato sauce. Other favourites are dried mango (still), rainbow pops cereal, provitas, Nestle cereal bars, rice cakes and anything else they can feed themselves.

The boys have finally started holding their own bottles. Lazy little things. Funnily it left me rather sad. As they become more and more independent I am so relieved on one hand and another part of me rebels at their lessening reliance on me. It is bitter sweet watching your babies grow and “need” you less. Ofcourse I understand the way they need me changes and they will always need their mommy, but it feels strange that our interactions are changing after 9 long months where the majority of the time I had to fulfil their every need.

I must say I am loving, LOVING this stage. I love watching them figure things out, how they stare intently at something in order to understand what it is and how it works.

They are incredible little souls who remind me on a daily basis that life is indeed a miracle.

Biker boys

Biker boys

This is one of the photos from the photoshoot my sister booked for my granny’s birthday.

Double trouble

Double trouble

Baby bomb

Baby bomb

My poor lounge looks like a toy store exploded in it. It takes the boys about 5 minutes to get it like this.

7 thoughts on “9 month update

  1. Gosh, they grow up so fast! It feels to me that we won’t have a baby anymore soon, so I totally understand that you feel sad that they don’t rely on you so much anymore.

    Our lounge and study also looks like yours by the way!

    • I know Marion. On one hand it is great to see them grow and develop but a part of me is sad that they won’t be my babies forever.

    • I’m still waiting for the high-res photos from the photographer. I see there are some AMAZING pics from the shoot. I can’t wait to have them in my grubby paws.

Leave a Reply

