Four years of bliss

At the end of the month Dear Wife and I celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary.

What a wonderful 4 years it has been. I can’t believe how blessed we are. We have such a wonderful life together, we have two beautiful children and we live in abundance.

When celebrating our amazing life my thoughts often turn to other people around the world who don’t have the right to get married. It makes me sad that I get to experience a joy that is denied to others.

I wouldn’t even bother to argue against all the various religious aspects of why homosexuality is wrong. Instead I try to live my life as a testament, showing how beautiful our relationship and family is.

Our wedding was presided over by an ordained minister and I truly believe that our union is blessed.
We were blessed with the two most beautiful twin boys.
We are a normal family, with all the same worries and concerns as any other.
Our families love and validate us and our relationship.
We are members of a mainstream Anglican church, where we are welcomed and acknowledged by the rest of the community.
We are raising our children with Christian values and within the Christian faith.
We are exhausted just like any other new parents and despite that try to do the very best for our children.
Our boys have loving parents who love them and each other.
I would give my life to protect my family.
We pay a bond, do grocery shopping, argue occasionally, make up, cuddle on the couch, go for walks, dance around the kitchen to Ella Fitzgerald, have bad days, have good days…

Are we so different from you and your family?

I firmly believe it is easier to hate what you don’t know, and what you don’t understand. I hope that our family gives a face to what gay marriage (or as I like to call it marriage) can be like.

My hope is that every person in the world will be given the opportunity to live as happily (or unhappily, as some marriages may be) ever after with the person they choose irrespective of the gender of their partner.

Wow this post took an unexpectedly serious turn.

10 thoughts on “Four years of bliss

  1. Congratulations! I totally agree with you that people tend to frown upon things they don’t know. I am not a mom (yet) but I am a teacher and I try to teach my kids to be open minded. Last year I had 2 gay teenagers in my matric class and they “came out” in grade 10. The rest of the class supported them and were just as angry when they were not allowed to take same sex partners to the matric dance. Things are changing…x

    • I can’t believe in this day and age matric students wouldn’t be allowed to take a same sex partner to their matric dance…unless it is a Christian school bit even then. The school would be opening themselves up for litigation.

      Miela, people like you are so important for young gay teens. Thank you for doing your bit to make the world a kinder place for everyone.

      XX

  2. CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR ANNIVERSARY!!!

    And I flipping loved this post. I am one of those people who would back up what you have said here over and over and over. WHAT is the fuss anyway!? We are all the same! FFS. What is “normal”, anyway??? It gets my goat when people get all judgemental and and.. Just p*sses me off. I have had shouting sessions with people about this very thing.

    Saw this sign on Pinterest “It’s very dear to me, the issue of gay marriage. Or as I like to call it, marriage. You know, because I had lunch this afternoon – not gay lunch. And I parked my car; I didn’t gay park it”.

    So there. 🙂

    • I love the fact that you feel strongly enough about this that you would get into heated debate over it. It is always great to have friends in your corner and standing in solidarity with you about a cause which effects you.

    • Thanks Pie. It has been an awesome four years and I’m grateful that we live in a country where our relatioship and family is recognised and protected by law.

      XX

  3. I think the quote about gay parking was by Liz Feldman – she cracks me up. Congrats on the anniversary!
    I find the conflicting views in Australia strange sometimes. The country as a whole does not recognize same sex couples, however my very Christian school allowed us to bring same sex friends to our school dance at the end of our schooling (12yrs ago).

    • Well here we can get married but there is a huge problem with black lesbians ferrying attacked, beaten and raped all in the name of turning them straight. The world is full of contradictions.

Leave a Reply

