Linguine al limone

Lemons

Last night DW (after picking a last couple strands of pasta out of the pot) asked me if I have decided that she needs to eat more, because she is finding it really hard not to over-eat with the food I’ve been cooking lately.

Cooking is an expression of love for me. I love nothing better than having DW and Angel Nanny compliment me on a meal.

Food is part of my heritage as my dad is Jewish, so celebrations often occur around a table. We joke and say my mom always cooks for the entire lost tribe of Israel.

Heritage aside, feeding my family is nurturing. As the adage goes “you are what you eat”, so then all the more reason to feed the people I love food that has love and care infused in every bite.

Last night I felt like making something special for DW. I was inspired by my Foxy friend’s upcoming trip to Italy. When DW asked for pasta for dinner I remembered when we were on honeymoon; we took a roadtrip with our first and last stop was a little town outside of Bloemfontein called Smithfield. There are two restaurants in Smithfield, Pig Out and Luigi’s. The first night we ate at Pig Out and on the return journey we ate at Luigi’s. I remember DW ordered Linguine al limone and raved about it. She enjoyed it so much that when we got home she tried to make a lemon risotto. It was a disaster! We threw the risotto away and laughed it off as an experiment gone horribly wrong.

And so the Linguine al limone faded into the haze of memory. Until last night that is.

After doing a little Google research I found this recipe. Again it is one of those ridiculously easy but amazingly delicious recipes.

I served it with some grilled hake, but I think salmon would be sublime with this. Or you could just have it by itself in all its glory.

So without further ado… Linguine al limone

Ingredients:

Salt

1 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, divided (or more to taste)

6 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice, divided

1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

2 teaspoons grated lemon zest

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1 pound dried linguine

Chopped fresh basil or parsley (optional)

Set a covered large pot of salted water over high heat.

In a small mixing bowl, whisk 3/4 cup of the cheese and 4 tablespoons of lemon juice to make a paste. Gradually add the oil while whisking constantly until smooth. Whisk in the lemon zest, salt and pepper.

When the water boils, add the linguine and stir. Cook, stirring occasionally, for 8 minutes or until al dente. Reserve about 1/2 cup of the cooking water before draining. Return the linguine to the pot. Add the lemon sauce. Toss to coat. Taste and add as much of the remaining 2 tablespoons lemon juice as desired to taste. Add a few tablespoons of reserved cooking water to loosen the sauce if needed. Allow to sit for a few minutes for the linguine to absorb some of the sauce. Toss in some torn basil or chopped parsley if desired. Pass the additional 1/4 cup (or more to taste) Parmigiano at the table.

Makes 8 first course servings

Recipe from SimpleItaly.

2 thoughts on “Linguine al limone

  1. Sounds utterly scrumptious. I actually made a similar one about a year ago, which I got off one of Nigella’s shows on BBC – she just added a tub of Marscapone – VERY decadent and deliciously creamy!
    My husband didn’t enjoy it as much though – but he is of the “don’t add fruit to savoury” variety!!

    • Lol… Lemon isn’t fruit! Lemon is primal and nostalgic, fresh and invigorating.

      I make a lemon roast chicken that would change his mind about fruit and savoury.

      I love this recipe. It is definitely a new favourite.

Leave a Reply

