My ridiculously delicious Cape Malay Fish Curry recipe

Okay…this is not a food blog but this recipe is too good not to share.

I’m a mommy, and as such I cook dinner most nights. This dish is so quick and easy to prepare. It will take you about 40 minutes start to finish.

Sorry for the lack of pictures but I am no photographer and I doubt any photo would ever do this recipe justice.

If you decide to make this recipe please let me know how it turned out and if you made any changes to the recipe.

INGREDIENTS
1 kg firm flesh fish (eg. unsalted snoek or yellowtail)
5 ml salt
2 ml fresh ground pepper
juice of one small lemon
1 large onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, crushed
15 ml mild and spicy curry powder
5 ml turmeric
10 ml cake flour
250 ml water
2 bay leaves
5 ml vinegar
20 ml sugar
30 ml smooth apricot jam
250ml double cream

METHOD
Serves: 4
Season the fish with salt and pepper, sprinkle with the lemon juice and set aside.
Heat a little oil in a saucepan and saute the onion and the garlic for 5 minutes or until the onion is transparent. Add the curry powder and the turmeric and mix well. Sprinkle the flour over and stir it in. Add the water and bring to boil, stirring.
Reduce the heat to low and add the fish, and bay leaves. Simmer, covered for 15 minutes.
Mix the vinegar, sugar and apricot jam and add to the saucepan. Add cream. Simmer, stirring occasionally for another 15 minutes.
Add more salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately with rice.

I make basmati rice with a large pinch of salt, 1 x 4cm stick of cinnamon, 2 cardamom pods (cracked open), 1 star aniseed and 2 tsp of tumeric.

5 thoughts on “My ridiculously delicious Cape Malay Fish Curry recipe

    • As and when I have a good one to share I promise I’ll pass them on. I think the next one will be my “waterbuffeltjies” recipe. It is souskluitjies with a chocolate sauce.

    • This recipes is so easy and delicious. DW and her family have requested I make it for every special occasion.

      And like all curries it is even better when it has had a chance to sit in the fridge overnight.

Leave a Reply

