Grouchy baby, angel baby

What an exhausting few days. Monkey is a particularly spirited little boy. He is very vocal about his likes and dislikes. When he is unhappy he throws hissy fits. Lion Cub on the other hand is a much more chilled out baby. They take turns not sleeping Monkey will cry solidly for 3 hours whereas Lion Cub will just lie there happily watching the world go by and will only cry if he is left in his boring cot.

My father-in-law came to babysit for 2 hours yesterday afternoon. It means I got to sleep for a bit while someone else looked after babies. He doesn’t however understand that the babies really do need to sleep. If a boy squeaks or opens his eyes or even so much as twitched FIL is there ready to pick them up. So neither boy slept much. By 7pm they were both exhausted. Lion cub went straight to sleep but Monkey had a monumental meltdown and cried constantly until the 11pm feed. Dear Wife and I took turns consoling him and handing the screaming baby over when the frustration got too much.

Monkey does this regularly. At least once every 2-3 days. He falls into the medical definition of a colicky baby. Inconsolable crying for more than 3 hours a day, 3 days a week for 3 weeks. But I still don’t know if it qualifies as colic… it doesn’t seem bad enough?

No-one tells you about how frustrating a crying baby can be. Hours of crying on end can wear down even the strongest mommy. What I wasn’t prepared for was the anger that comes with the frustration. Sometimes I have an uncontrollable wave of animosity towards my babies and I just want to scream at them and shake them until they stop crying. That is the point where I usually hand over to Dear Wife. Another trick I found works for me is to gently kiss them on the top of their heads while they are crying. It doesn’t soothe them but it does calm me down and ease the frustration. I’ve also learnt to just leave them to cry when it gets too much for me. With twins you only have one set of hands and if both start crying you can only pick one up at a time, it used to freak me out if they both cried at the same time. Now I cope better.

I have a single-mother-by-choice friend who raised twins alone without a nanny. I have a new found respect for her. My nanny is going on leave for a week as she has a memorial service to attend. I’m going to be home alone for an entire week. I am more than a little apprehensive. The worst thing is my magic in-laws are away at the same time so my usual support structures aren’t there. Eeek! This feels like a trial by fire. Hopefully I will come out on the other side a more confident mommy.

One thought on “Grouchy baby, angel baby

  1. You are doing great! Always just remember you are human and mommies also need “me time”. Be gentle to yourself. Best of luck for the week alone with them. Will think of you and saying a little prayer that they will be two, sweet, little Angels. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

